kitchen table


Denied: feminist blogger plays 20-questions & still comes up short
September 20, 2006, 3:07 pm
Filed under: Blogging, conservative craziness, Feminism, Gender, Reproductive Rights

Biting Beaver has a detailed report up of her recent attempt to get emergency contraception. Not only was she asked questions about her marital status, fidelity, and number of children, she was made to answer personal questions about the sexual act causing her to need EC.

Was it rape? They wanted to know. Did she experience “trauma?”

“No. I have not been raped. The condom broke”. I state, becoming very frustrated at this point and wondering what the hell is going on.

“Ok, well ummm….Are you married?” he mumbles the words so low I can barely hear them.

Suddenly I get this image of the poor nurse standing at the hospital reading from a cue card that was given to him by a doctor.

“No.” I state plainly. “I am not married. I’ve been in a relationship for several years and I have three children, I don’t want a fourth.” I respond tersely.

“Oh, I see.” He says and then he hurries on, “Well, see. *I* understand. I want you to know that I understand what you’re saying. But see, the problem is that we have 4 doctors here right now but only one of them ever writes EC prescriptions. But see, the thing is that he’ll interview you and see if you meet his criteria. Now, I called the pharmacy but I also talked to him and well….*clears throat*….you can come down and try to get it. You know, if you meet his criteria he’ll give you a prescription, I mean, there’s really no harm in trying.” the nurse trails off, his voice falters as I realize what I’m being told.

The whole piece is up at Biting Beaver’s blog. It’s worth the read.

Via Feministing.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That she had to go through that process and still have the entry end WITHOUT her getting EC–I can’t stop shaking my head.

Comment by Courtney




Leave a Reply

