kitchen table


postmarked
August 16, 2006, 7:42 pm
Filed under: Buffalo, funny fun fun, tattoos

I have a tattoo of a postmark on my chest and today the inevitable happened: while buying stamps, postal employees spotted the familiar symbol and became excited. Really excited.

“Is it real?” one asked, staring openly at my neckline. She had just finished telling me that the Quilts of Gee’s Bend stamps are due out on the 29th.

“Do you work for the postal service,” said the other, a woman with a long, gray ponytail.

I confirmed that yes, it was real and no, I don’t work for the postal service. I likened my exposed tattoo—given the place, the people—to wearing a band’s t-shirt at said band’s concert: it’s cool to share your love outside of the institution but being so outright in your commitment within is like showing off, or being a huge nerd.

Ponytail lady’s response only further validated my analogy: “Thank god,” she exclaimed, “I wouldn’t want to think that anyone was that dedicated to the postal service!” The two women shared a laugh behind the counter and turned to me smiling, a look of amusement and confusion hidden under their grins.

“Well, that’s neat honey,” the first one said.

“You take care,” the other echoed. I scooped up my purchase and waved goodbye, happy to be a huge nerd.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s beautiful, what’s the story behind your choice?

Comment by Paul C.epcion

thank you.

it’s a postmark from a letter my brother sent me–the first letter he ever put in the mail. it was also sent from our house in Buffalo.

Comment by whitney




Leave a Reply

