kitchen table


back and forth
August 4, 2006, 11:54 am
Filed under: Activism, friends, politics

Stephen wrote me recently, saying something to the effect of, “What’s with the constant back and forth: I hate my job, I like my job, I’m quitting, What I’m doing is kinda neat, I hate my job.”

As the date of the primary approaches, I’m both full of dread and a sense of empowerment. It’s confusing. This business I’m working in–politics–gets so ugly at times that throwing in the towel in a fit of disgust seems like the most reasonable action. But then I have a conversation with one of my allies, and another conversation, and another, and I talk it out until I feel comfortable. Until I am reminded of oh yeah, this is why I’m here. This process, these people.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know that feeling. When it’s good it’s very good, when it’s bad it’s… yeah. It can be easy to lose sight of why we do the things that are important to us (especially when it’s getting ugly) but there’s nothing like that feeling of being reminded. That oh yeah, like you wrote. Very little can compare to that feeling of renewal. Or maybe it’s just me.

I like the new header image!

Comment by Courtney

thanks Courtney!

Comment by kitchentables




Leave a Reply

